Panarchists

The right to choose your government.

Isaiah speaks of panarchy

Is not this the fast that I choose:
to loose the bonds of wickedness,
to undo the thongs of the yoke,
to let the oppressed go free,
and to break every yoke?
[Isaiah 58:6 RSV]

Throughout scripture one comes across ideas like these from the Book of the Prophet Isaiah. “Free the prisoners.” But surely they are not talking about convicted criminals, those who kill and steal. No, these frequent exhortations to free the prisoners refer to those in bondage to unjust governments. I will not say that this is all that these exhortations refer to, because there are many ways that a person may be oppressed and bound. But clearly they also, and perhaps most of all, refer to systems of government, even republics, which do not properly recognize the fullness of freedom that belongs to each and every human being. Panarchy, by seeking to make government personal and not territorial, breaks the yoke, frees the oppressed, looses the bonds of monopolistic governments everywhere.

2010/02/19 - Posted by | Uncategorized

1 Comment »

  1. John Zube sent me this comment via email:

    By coincidence, during the recent celebration of the 50th birthday of my second son, I met a local businessman, he turned out to be pious Christian (He even managed to “pray” for me, then and there. I did not laugh, in order not to offend him even further.), who wanted to hear nothing about panarchism and monetary freedom, but insisted on me reading Isaiah! He also prayed for me, hoping to still “save” me to his kind of sectatianism. I wish I would have had that quote on hand then, together with your comment. Seeing his religious commitment, I did not bother to ask for his email address. Anyhow, the “Christians” have a tradtion to interpret the “holy” scriptures as they like. Thus discussions with them are, usually, just a waste of time.

    I do like the development of your website entries. Current project: Enlargement and correction of my old Pan A to Z.

    Comment by Dwight Johnson | 2011/08/15 | Reply


Leave a Reply

